Useless Strength (for now)

What is a strength you have that you haven’t used?

What is a strength you have that you haven’t used? Recently? Maybe a secret skill, or perhaps an ability that only surfaces under tough times?

I think the topic for today’s The Daily Post pushes an author to really shove modesty aside. But not to totally give myself out (because secret skills are kept secret for a reason. haha), I am giving the most obvious (and safe?) answer.

A strength that I have battled five years to acquire is my Bachelor’s Degree in Materials Engineering.

Now, it’s just useless.
All the Mathematics… Chemistry… Physics… all down the drain.
Don’t even get me started with my Engineering Science courses. They were all tough courses but I all loved them. The bittersweet challenges and the continuous growth of the mind (literally, I felt my brain swelling) just got me going all those years. And I kept thinking, “I can’t wait to do this for the rest of my life!”

However, when I graduated, the real world intimidated me and I started to panic. Instead of scouring the job market for something I was passionate about, I took the first job that offered comfortable income and benefits. The next thing I remember, it’s three years after and I am in a career totally different from what I was trained for.

I tried to fight it as first. I enrolled for a post graduate degree in Materials Science and Engineering(MSE). But as school work was getting heavier, so was the work load. And getting to classes was becoming impossible. It was just like two different worlds. I had a hard time studying for something totally not related to what I am doing for more than 40 hours a week.

So I learned how to accept it. I decided to choose one for now. I filed for leave of absence at school and changed my focus to work. I am in a confused phase until now and not knowing how to clear all the confusion. I am just going with the flow of life for now, keeping the faith and my MSE knowledge in my back pocket. We’ll never know when I’ll get to use it again but I am always ready to show it off anytime (of course, with a lot of dusting first. haha).

Leave a Reply

