Welcome to the real world…

All her life Rachel was told “You’re a shoe! You’re a shoe!”.
But one day she realized, “What if I don’t want to be a shoe? What if I want to be a purse? or a hat?”

So she left her groom in the altar.
And while still in her wedding gown, she came looking for Monica (her bestfriend in high school) in a coffee shop named Central Perk and found four others.

Does the plot sound familiar?
Yes. You’re right.
This is the first ever episode of my favorite TV series, Friends.

I recently watched the show again and realized… at my age right now, I totally relate more to the characters.  Before I just say I can relate to them because of my similar personalities to some characters (i.e. you can see yourself as a Chandler when it comes to love life and a Monica when it comes to being competitive). But now that I’m a yuppie scum for almost three years, I started to realize that: “This is my life! They are living my life!”

Stuck on a job. Broke. Non-existent love life.

And as the soundtrack continues…
“It’s like you’re always stuck in second gear.When it hasn’t been your day, your week, your month, or even your year… I’ll be there for you!”

This song says: “What the hell, right?”
As long you have the most awesome friends in the world… life is wonderful!

So my first post is just a shout out to my fellow yuppies experiencing quarter life crisis:
Keep on living life like there is no tomorrow.
Sing like no one is listening.
Dance like no one is watching.
Love like you have never loved before.

Let 2011 be a year of: No complaints. No regrets. Pure positivity!

…and just like what Monica said to Rachel:

“Welcome to the real world. It sucks. You’re gonna love it!”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment on “Welcome to the real world…”

  1. […] (Tatia) create my “About” page and I included a slideshow of my photos with friends on my first post. I decided to share it to the world and let everyone know it’s me!  The rest are […]


Leave a Reply

